Stephen F. Austin High School

Incoming Student General Info

 

Starting high school is an important step in a young person's life and we want you to have as many tools as possible to help your son or daughter with this transition. As we all help your child on this adventure, please know that Austin High is a great place to be! Loyal Forever!

Incoming Student General Info students page

Austin High School Main Phone Number: 512-414-2505

ADMINISTRATION
Austin High Principal Amy Taylor 512-414-1250 amy.taylor@austinisd.org

Academy for Global Studies (AGS) Director

(Assistant Principal for AGS students)

Nicole Griffith 512-841-1950 nicole.griffith@austinisd.org

Freshman Assistant Principal

(freshman A-L, except AGS students)

Adriana Longoria  512-414-7203  adriana.longoria@austinisd.org
Freshman Assistant Principal

(freshman M-Z, except AGS students)

Aaron Vohl 512-414-7201  aaron.vohl@austinisd.org 
 Admin. Assistant to the Principal Linda Garcia 512-414-1250 linda.a.garcia@austinisd.org 
 Admin. Assistant to the AGS Director Daniela Sepulveda 512-414-7256 daniela.sepulveda@austinisd.org
 Admin. Assistant to the Assistant Principals Maria Quick  512-414-2810 maria.quick@austinisd.org
COUNSELORS
Last names A-G, except AGS Albert Ainsworth 512-414-7225 albert.ainsworth@austinisd.org
 Last names H-Q except AGS Gay Myrick 512-414-7226   gay.myrick@austinisd.org
 Last names R-Z, except AGS Kerri Curcoe  512-414-7230  kerri.curcoe@austinisd.org  
 All Academy for Global Studies students Barb Huffman 512-414-2813  barbara.huffman@austinisd.org 
OTHER
504 Coordinator Katherine Fields 512-841-1971 katherine.fields@austinisd.org
Child Study Team and Crisis Counselor Chad McMillan 512-841-7227 chad.mcmillan@austinisd.org
Social Service Specialist Sherri Patton-Grubb 512-414-7220 sherri.patton-grubb@austinisd.org
School Nurse Molly Hinds 512-414-7203 molly.hinds@austinisd.org
Attendance Specialist Patty Ballin 512-414-7214 patricia.ballin@austinisd.org

Important Upcoming Events

  • Maroon Roundup (Austin High School orientation) - August 10, 2017 (9:30 - 4:00): Please note that AISD buses will run their normal routes on this day (great practice!) and lunch will be provided.
  • AGS Orientation (only for AGS freshman & students new to AGS) - Friday, August 12, 2016 (9:30-12:30): There will NOT be bus service for this day.
  • Freshman Parent Camp August 9, 2017 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Registration Information

  • Registrar (A-L) - Liz Nichols 512-414-7218
  • Registrar (M-Z) - Pam Teinert 512-414-7216

Registration dates for students new to AISD and/or Austin High School

  • Tuesday, August 9, 2016 (9:00-6:00)
  • Wednesday, August 10, 2016 (9:00-6:00)

First Day of School

Monday, August 21, 2016

Drop off procedures for freshman for first day ONLY:

If you are dropping your student off for the first day of school in a private vehicle, please use the East side Cesar Chavez entrance of campus. There will be student volunteers and school staff in bright t-shirts that say "Link Crew" to guide your child to the Performing Arts Center (PAC). Freshman students will meet their homeroom teacher in the PAC and will be guided to their first homeroom classroom. Throughout the day, we will all help our 9th graders find their classes and feel welcome as new Maroons.

NOTE: On all other days except the first day of school, families should pick up and drop off their student(s) on the West end loop by the electronic marquee/athletic entrance. The East entrace off Cesar Chavez is reserved for school buses.

Back to School Night

Tuesday, September, 2016 (Time T.B.D.)

Mark your calendars for Back to School Night. Come meet your student's teachers and learn about our iniatives and goals for the 2016-2017 school year.

Lunch at Austin High School

Cafeteria - Full Price: $2.50, Reduced Price: $.40 (Note: prices listed are for the 2015-2016 school year and are subject to change)

We have one lunch period at Austin High, which allows students to work with groups and/or take advantage of tutoring. Students are allowed to eat in many areas of Austin High, including outside on picnic tables, in our cafeteria, and in the main commons of the school. On a nice day it is common to see kids outside playing frisbee, soccer, or enjoying a picnic. We have an open campus for seniors only and all freshman, sophomore, and juniors must remain on campus during lunch.

School Supplies

Teachers will provide school supply lists during the first few days of school so they can clarify with students what is expected for each class. Please ensure that your student is ready with paper and pen/pencil the first day of school

School Store - The Austin High School Store is run by our Austin High Student Council and is located across from the entrance to the cafeteria. The store is stocked with common school supplies and is open to students during lunch.

Clubs and Organizations

One of our mottos at Austin High is "Everybody is Somebody at Austin High." We have many clubs and organizations available for students and encourage ALL student to find a way to get involved during their time here. As part of Maroon Roundup on August 11, students will visit a club fair to explore their options. There is something here for everyone!

Communication

We value you as a partner in your child's education and encourage communication about your student's progress. We also encourage students to build relationships with their teachers and learn to advocate for themselves as much as possible. This prepares them for their future in the real world. However, if you feel you need to step in to help your student, please do not hesitate to contact his or her teacher by email.

Website: www.austinhighmaroons.org
Twitter: @LoyalForeverAHS
Join PTSA & Subscribe to the PTSA Weekly Newsletter: www.austinhighmaroons.org/parents/ptsa