Stephen F. Austin High School

Parent Education Series

The Austin High School PTSA is not just about fundraising for the academic support or our teachers and the academic success of our children but we also want to emphasize our role in providing educational opportunities beyond the classroom walls. These opportunities happen FIVE (5) times a year and are a part of the PTSA Parent/Student Educational Programming Series - aka the "Parent Ed. Series."

http://www.austinhsptsa.com/education-series.html

Dates and Location for the Parent Education Series
Date  Time Topic For Location
Thursday, September 20, 2018 12:38-1:38 pm Staying Afloat in High School, presented by Ms. Butler and Ms. Patton-Grub (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, October 9, 2018 12:00 - 1:00 pm NAMI presents - Let's Talk: Starting the Mental Health Conversation with your Teen, Sponsored by Okay to Say (lite lunch provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 12:35 - 1:14 pm NAMI presents - Ending the Silence, Sponsored by Okay to Say (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Monday, November 5, 2018 12:35 - 1:14 pm Stories About Recovery - UT Center for Students in Recovery (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 6:00 - 8:00 pm Stories About Recovery - UT Center for Students in Recovery AND Research-Based Drug & Alcohol Addition - Waggoner Center (lite dinner provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 12:35 - 1:14 pm Research-Based Drug & Alcohol Addition - Waggoner Center (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 12:35 - 1:14 pm Consent and Sexual Harassment, presented by Safeplace and Austin Children's Shelter (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Tuesday, January 16, 2019 12:00 - 1:00 pm Consent and Sexual Harassment, presented by Safeplace and Austin Children's Shelter (lite lunch provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 12:35 - 1:14 pm How Smartphones & Other Technology Can Affect You (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 12:35 - 1:14 pm Distracted Driving, presented by Andrew's Choice (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 12:00 - 1:00 pm Distracted Driving, presented by Andrew's Choice (lite lunch provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 12:35 - 1:14 pm Body Image and Eating Healty with Gina Matear, RD, LDh (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 6:00 - 7:00 pm Body Image and Eating Healty with Gina Matear, RD, LDh (lite dinner provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 12:35 - 1:14 pm Adolescent Secuality with Dr. Karen Rayne PhD, CSE (lunch provided) Students AHS iLab (2nd Floor)
Thursday, May 9, 2019 12:00 - 1:00 pm Adolescent Secuality with Dr. Karen Rayne PhD, CSE (lite lunch provided) Parents AHS Cafe Austin (2nd Floor)